Click here to contact our helpful office staff ×

Build times

Roadsport06

I got my kit on Monday and I have the next two weeks off. BUT, it is taking me ages to get the smallest jobs done. eg. The front suspension is only half finished (not my fault though as Caterham didnt supply the top arms, the steering is in and I have just put the dedion ears on the tube and bent the brake pipes. I did put in the diff but forgot the prop shaft and cant take it out until a friend comes back from work.

I am a complete beginner on this but did others find it as slow going as me?

James, I suspect just about everyone who has started such a job for the first time has the same issues/delays as you! Good on you for doing it - I expect the satisfaction of building your own will be huge.

I know how long it takes to take them apart again.... 😬

www.mycaterham.com

here

91,000 miles -1st 1.6k Supersport, '95 Motor Show car

Good luck James. I got my kit last August bank holiday and also found out the hard way why the manual suggests inserting the prop shaft before installing the diff. Doh! All I can say is that the second time was sooooooo much quicker.

My build took 3 months - but I only had weekends and had to fit in around my family as well. The time goes very quickly *smile*

Tim B

James, chin up, take your time and make sure you enjoy it. *smile*It's not a race and you will get better at these things. We have all had bad days when messing with cars and even those of us who like to think we are capable of tackling anything have off days and setbacks. I am currently having a terrible time with a 2cv's brakes for a friend, and I'm supposed to be good at this stuff. *confused*

When you get fed up, do something else for an hour and come back. Sit in the seat making vrooming noises 😬 and think about how great it's going to be when it runs and you can say "I built it myself" *smile*