Click here if you are having website access problems ×

X-Flow - A Brick Wall

cskip

I have a 1600 X-Flow in standard trim (no Rev Limiter). When reving the engine to approx. 5200 RPM the engine appears to hit a brick wall and simply will not rev higher. It does not act like a Rev limiter, the engine continues to rev smoothly at 5200 RPM.

It has been suggested that this is caused by "Value Bounce". Is this possible and what is the solution? Could running the engine like this have caused any damage (e.g. Flat out in top gear down a long straight on the track)?

Please go careful on me, I am not that technically minded!!

Thanks in advance.

Clive.

Crossflow - Loud and Proud!

Valve bounce is a general term for when the valve springs can no longer control the movement of the valves. The valves then no longer do what the camshaft is telling them to do and the effect is rather like a rev limiter.

The simplest cause of this is simply that the valve springs are not strong enough to work at high revs, but you can also get a situation where the spring starts to resonate at a certain point in the rev range. In the second case you can often drive through the problem and the engine will run cleanly again at higher revs; this can be dealt with by changing the mass of the valve gear, using better damped springs, or using springs that resonate at a different point.

I should point out that the above is simplistic, but gives a reasonable explanation. Both types of problem must be dealt with. It is also possible that you have a broken spring.

5200rpm is rather low for this to happen, even with a standard valve spring - are you sure the tacho is accurate?

If it is accurate, is your engine as supplied by Ford, or is it a recon from an unkown source? If the latter, it is quite possible that dimensions such as spring height are incorrect or even that you have the wrong (or very tired) springs fitted.

More investigation is needed.

Clive,