Click here to contact our helpful office staff ×

Brake upgrade

DomRees

soem of you may have seent he thread on Track Days in Chit chat.

I'll need to upgrade the brakes, what sort should I get? The ones at CC look expensive to me.

Should I bother with the rears?

And is it easy to do diy job?

Happily married to a 1990 Supersprint. Dont tell the missus.

*confused*

New to all this, and I'm no mechanic (even though I think I know what you mean)..

In barnyard animal layman's terms, would it be changing the pads and the brake fluid? If so, how do I do that???

Happily married to a 1990 Supersprint. Dont tell the missus.

As the long as the fuild is Dot 4 there's is absolutely no need to change fluid to Dot 5 unless the car is suffering from high brake fluid tempeartures through track work. Though I would always recommend changing brake fluid every 3 years at the very max..... its cheap to do.

As Richard states I would try the pad root 1st... it is inexpensive and can give surprising results.

The std front brakes are sierra single pistons. A good pad like a mintex 1144 will give the front more immediate bite and less fade at high working temperatures.

Leave the rears std. you can upgrade the rr pad type aswell but I would start at the front and see how the brake balance is 1st effected by better front pads.

Make sure the brakes are really well bled... no.1 priority.

anxiously waiting for my new 2.3 SV

Dom,

Your keeping the car now?

Use Pagid RS14 pads on the FRONT brakes. Retain standard(?) rear pads as timbo mentioned. JOB DONE *wink* *thumbup*.

Did James Whiting bleed your brakes when he serviced your car?

It's a shame I am not around otherwise could have helped you.