Click here to contact our helpful office staff ×

Does inboard suspension reduce unsprung weight?

CHip

Reading a review of the CSR they mentioned several advantages to having inboard suspension, one of whcih was reducing unsprung weight.

I'm probably being a bit thick, but surely unsprung weight is measured from the chassis side of the spring/damper unit. Therefore how can it's location affect unsprung weight?

Any ideas?

-----------------------------------

Se7en spotting until my car arrives here

Edited, because it obviously affects my spelling

Edited by - CHip on 8 Jun 2005 13:04:06

I think we have debated this in the past and no one was sure as I think you could make the case that anything inboard of the bellcrank is part of the chassis and hence sprung. However I am not an engineer and this is purely from memory so may not be accurate.

Edited by - Graham Perry on 8 Jun 2005 14:03:15

Some confusion here maybe , "Sprung" weight is a term used to describe the parts of the car that are supported by the front and rear springs. They suspend the vehicle's frame, body, engine, and the power train above the wheels.

The "unsprung" weight includes wheels and tyres, brake assemblies, the rear axle assembly, and other structural members not supported on the springs.

so the inboard suspension would reduce "unsprung" weight as the weight of the spring and damper that would impact on the rebound of the wheel is moved to a position of "sprung weight"

I was once shown that , if you remove the wheel and spring , then support the chassis . If you grab hold of the brake disc and lift - everything that you are lifting , plus the wheel and spring is "unsprung" .On the rear this of course includes the dedion tube .

I imagine the whole Freestyle setup is actually heavier overall as you are adding material , but the unsprung is reduced .

Dave

Edited by - Dave Jackson on 8 Jun 2005 14:21:12

Edited by - Dave Jackson on 8 Jun 2005 14:23:40