Click here if you are having website access problems ×

More speedo questions...

DaleS

I'm currently suffering from a broken speedo setup (and, searching through BlatChat, I'm clearly not alone). There seem to be a number of fix possibilities that I'm trying to weigh up, and would really appreciate some advice from Those Who Know...

The mechanical angle drive/gearbox linkage sound inherently unreliable - I've been reading Pat The Plumber's tale of woe, and others like it. I'd prefer to sidestep that whole area entirely and go for a more reliable electronic speedo I think.

So, my questions;

- I've read a lot of postings about fitting bike speedos - they sounds temptingly straightforward to fit, but I think I'd prefer a standard-ish analog dial embedded in the dashboard if poss. Could anyone guide my towards the gauge/sensor components I should be looking for to achieve this? (PS. I'm a newbie, so please excuse the dumb questions).

- If I relent and go for a bike speedo, I was wondering if they're OK for MOT purposes? And what speeds do they read up to? *smile*

The previous owner of my Seven had fitted a bicycle computer when the speedo failed. I kept looking at the non-fuctional dial so replaced it with one from here.

You can customise the design to best match your other dials. Another benefit is that the speedo has a light built in, so can be seen at night.

You'll also need a sensor for it, also available from the same site.

Silence those rattles and creaks: wear earplugs.

I know of a couple of people who are using the Sigma BC1200. Both of their cars deliver over 230Bhp so I would imagine that this speedo reads accurately upto about 140mph.

You can pass an SVA with a Bike Speedo so long as it is lit.

But...

The mechanical angle drive/gearbox linkage sound inherently unreliable

If the mechanical drive is fitted properly it works without a problem. I also found it helpful having my speedometer rebuilt and recalibrated.