Click here if you are having website access problems ×

Numpty Question

Jenson Button

I have a 1.6 supersport k-series. What sort of power do most people have in classes 2 or 3? I understand that it must run on the 'standard plenum' and wanted to know how much modification the class leaders undertook and what power they put out?

Also, given that classes 2 and 3 and separated only by tyres as far as I can see, does anyone have a view on which might be a better class to enter as a novice?

if you are talking k's then most people run pretty standard setups and not major engine mods, so in general 130-145 bhp *thumbup* for supersport models

of course the twinks and steel xflows pump out way more than that 😬

as for which class is best, I would say this depends ona number fo factors

1. what tyres do you currently have 🤔

2. what tyres are you used to 🤔

3. do you intend to trailer 🤔

4. do you want to have a 2nd set of competition wheels, at extra cost etc etc 🤔

as a newbie I would suggest with enter which class your current tyres permit. Then if you enjoy it you can look at a 2nd / different set of wheels.

What ever there is a large amount of banter in both classes and I am sure you will receive a very warm welcome in both, unless of course you win everything and then people will want to know what secret mods you have 😬

rob *smile*

Thanks Rob

While I very much doubt I'll be anywhere up near the leaders, it would be nice to know roughly how level the playing field is... I fully understand that mods to the driver will make more difference than mods to the car though I'm trying to get a feel for what the performance differences are like within the same class.

Are the k's competitive against the XF's and others then?