Click here to contact our helpful office staff ×

Water temp AGAIN!!!!

Red SLR

This is starting to bug me now.

Today I took the car out for a quick spin, 5 miniutes into the drive the water temp was at 120c. This has not happend before so quickly.

The header tank was full and steam was coming out of the pop off valve.

The radiator was hot, but the exit hose was stone cold, the intake hose was hot.

What is going on??? Water is flowing round as the header tank filled up, is this correct?

I give up!!!!!

Simon

1600 K

X777CAT

You could check the thermostat (didn't you change it recentlyquestion.gif) and the water pump to see if they are working properly....

Don't K series car's have a bleed valve in the top hose/rad somewherequestion.gif ( I'm not a 'K' expert, but the cossie engine is prone to air locks, so I have some experience.....)

As for an airlock, I always seem to find that running the car up to about 90-100C with the header tank cap off seems to help, but I couldn't tell you why. If you jack the car up, you need to make sure that the header tank is higher than the rad, so you may need to remove it from it's mounts and hold it up/support it somehow (a girlfriend is quite useful for thisblush.gif) You could also try driving round the block until up to temp, then stopping and SLOWLY removing the header tank cap, but be VERY careful 'cos if the air is loose, it will come shooting out along with some boiling coolant. You get some warning, 'cos they tend to gurgle quite loudly, but be prepared to get out of the way, sharpish..........good luck..........