Click here if you are having website access problems ×

Novice Day

Debert

Yes, Goodwood IMHO is not so good for "intermediate" novices. But, for complete novices I think it offers something. It is wide, open, and on a noisy day (yes, quite expensive) you really don't see much else on the track with only 5 cars.

Less scary than having loads of other cars, slower and faster, contend with.

Plus on noisy days you are less likely to get idiots.

Just a thought.

From you I guess the other close-ish possibility is Brands. I know Easytrack used to do evening sessions. But they are a bit manic as people try to get as many laps in as possible and work out the days frustrations !

This may sound somewhat odd, but I often think club days are not the best places to start. Given the pressures of spaces, the green group is pretty fast, compared to a mixed day.

The birth of the Gixxerham : pics here drivel here

You could always try an airfield, MSE have just announced their Hullavington days and the first one of the year is on 18 Feb. Alternatively one of the excellent Academy days Mark Collins is organising? The first time I drove my caterham was at one of these! Also the first time I had to pick grass out of it 😳 😬

If it's a track you want Brands has been busy every time I've been there, but I've never had any problems in the novice sessions with easytrack. Alternatives in the south are ability-based sessions at Castle Combe (numbers and noise limits like Goodwood) or I think Silverstone Racing School do events where you bring your own car. Bound to be pricey though...

Fletch

Angie drove round Goodwood in the rain in December and survived - even enjoyed it, though that be something to do with the 'dishy' instructor (not me!).