Click here if you are having website access problems ×

flywheel and clutch

upriis

I have a rover 1.8k engine from an MGTF along with the flywheel and clutch

I have a caterham bellhousing (thanks shaun_e) and ford type 9 gearbox

I am needing some info as to mounting this lot together

can I use the rover flywheel and clutch?

do I need a different starter motor?

anyone forsee any other parts that might be required?

Many thanks for your help, I am quite new to this build your own business and would benefit from your collective experiances. *confused*

What's the engine from???

If it's out of a tintop, you'll need to do some work to the block to get the starter to fit (see here)

I don't think the flywheel *will* work - the caterham has a smaller flywheel - hence the need to grind the block so that the starter sits closer to the crank-axis...

If the engine is from a tintop and you've not got a spare caterham-k sitting around, you'll need to sort all kinds of things out such as the sump (caterham part), oil-pickup and so on...

Just post a few more details about what you've got, and what you are trying to do... *thumbup*

Project Scope-Creep is underway...

Alcester Racing 7's Equipe - 🙆🏻

Alcester-Racing-Sevens.com

Erm, no idea about the clutch.

Starter-motor might be OK, but it will need a spacer to move it approx. 10mm further towards the front of the engine.

Upriis - are you actually planning to drop this lot into a Caterham, or are you thinking of building a locost or some other derivative???

Project Scope-Creep is underway...

Alcester Racing 7's Equipe - 🙆🏻

Alcester-Racing-Sevens.com