Click here to contact our helpful office staff ×

Tonneau questions

AndrewD

My new tonneau cover arrived from Caterham yesterday ...

1. There are no instructions, just a bag of studs, screws and rivets. Is there anywhere I can find out how to put it together? I'm new to Caterham ownership and was expecting, probably naively, even a single sheet of instructions for my 100 quid, just like Ikea in fact :-)

2. I've got FIA rollbar and leather seats (on an SLR) but the cover doesn't look like it will fit over the seats, do you have to take the head restraints off then?

Thanks for any help

Andrew

Join the club Andrew, when I got my car the wife bought me a tonneau too. Same as you just a bag of studs etc.

It was just a question of weighing it up and having a couple of mates pulling cover into shape whist I took the drill to car.

You must take headrests off to fit, and the main problem I found was getting thing to fit over harness mounting bolts behind seats......it leaves huge gaps for rain to piss in. I decided the best way to combat this was to pack out between the bolts and mount cover to that........but I never did it.

I reckon if you have ordinary seat belts job will be a lot easier. After all that I've used it once only........at events when it's pouring I use the big brolly method, and tonneau as the picnic blanket!!!!!!

Kenny HPC

PS It's best to start off linig zip up with centre of car and doing the two studs either side of zip to dash board top.

Edited by - kenny on 22 Aug 2001 08:56:33

Me too - I bought an SL recently and I'm trying to source a tonneau without the steering wheel bulge (because it has a removeable wheel).

What I would like though is the one pictured at:

http://www.7gallery.co.uk (> Le Mans 2001, 4th picture down on the left)

as I'd like to leave my S-type headrests in place and this looks just the ticket (I notice you can get a tonneau with taylored pockets in to fit the Tillet R500 seats too which is nice).