Click here to contact our helpful office staff ×

Clutch change

JKJ

Have recently noticed a tendancy for the clutch on my 1700 SS to slip slightly when applying the power. Not all the time mind you, just occasianally, car has covered 36,000 mls. If a new clutch is required, do I need to remove both the engine and gearbox, or can the two be split to leave the gearbox in place. Any upgrades to the clutch recommended whilst doing the job, bearing in mind it's a road based car, and what bits to replace whilst in there. Also how easy is it to do and are any special tools required ?

Thanks

IMO it's easier taking the engine and box out together. It's very simple, I took mine out in 3 hours last night and I'm no expert. You will need an engine crane and a leveller(very important). You don't need any special tools. I find it easiest to take all the ancillaries off so you just have the block and head left as it makes it far easier to get in and out. I'd also advise taking the thermostat case off as it tends to foul the lifting chains as the engine is jiggled around getting it out of the car. Don't forget the gearlever and speedo drive either.

Make sure you drain the engine oil, essential if you have a dry sump, and gearbox oil, as it will come out the back of the box when the prop pulls out.

Other jobs to do while you're at it . . . . not much apart from a good clean and possibly a touch up of the paint on the chassis. People often say change the clutch cable - I wouldn't bother unless there was some kind of damage/fraying to it.

One little tip - put bolts back on where they came from when you remve something as it's easy to get them muddled otherwise. Many fasteners look very similar but are different lengths - e.g. inlet manifold, engine mount, exhaust bolts - all the same allen headed bolts(on my car anyway) but all slightly different lengths.

Accumulating bits . . .