Click here if you are having website access problems ×

Building from components

ROC

I will be building my first seven shortly. It is a 1600 Superlight with the anti cavitation tank. Does anyone know of a library of photos or any other recourse online that might help. Besides the tools listed in the build manual are there any others that are unusual like the 41mm socket (the cut off Allen key is in the assembly guide).

As I live in Sri Lanka and they do not allow cars in component form to be imported I will be building it in the UK. I have left myself 2 weeks for the build and 2 days post the Caterham crew’s check over before going for the SVA– is that enough time (I am an engineer by training – though have never worked as one).

Rupert Connelly

How much of the 2 weeks will you be building for? Are yo taking time off work or is that just evening?

When i built my car a few years ago I took a week off work and had the car finished in 8 days. However, this was before the SVA tests so can not comment on this part of it. Technically enough time, but you aren't leaving much time for shortages in the kit from Caterham which may hold the build up, or other problems.

I would feel inclined to give more time between the end of the buiild and the SVA, but then it is not nice having a finished car sitting in the garage waiting to be driven.

Phil Waters

Q181 ABL - 1600 X/F smile.gif

thanks Phil

I am coming to the UK specifically to build the seven. 100% of my time. Also I will be in Maidstone so not too far to go and get any pieces that I may want.

thanks for the feedback.

Rupert Connelly