Click here if you are having website access problems ×

Newbie re sprints etc in 05

kpm

hi

Im would like to participate in sprints etc in 2005 I dont have a race license and I am a total novice. I brought an ex academy 1.6 vx about 4 months ago which is my first caterham. Can someone give me an idea as to what I need to do what gear I need to have have, how much this will cost and how I would enter. Would I also need to trailer the car ? Any help appreciated

Thanks

K *biggrin*

KPM

There are a number of people with VX ex-Academy and ex- Graduate cars running in Class 1 in the club speed championship. Post any question you may have on this forum and it will be answered 😬

Welcome to the Club *thumbup*

Kipper

Fun is not a straight line.

KPM - our next event is only a couple of weeks away (29th Aug at Curborough, Staffs). If you're free come along and have a look at what goes on and a chat. Getting started in the club championship is straightforward and you'll get plenty of advice and support from other competitors (if you want it). You don't need a trailer, but it does make life a lot easier (I hire one for the longer journeys). Come and give it a go *thumbup*

Andy Nicholls

C7 AJN

KPM,

Your car, being an ex-race car, should be fine for sprinting. Just don't be tempted to change the tyres for anything (much) better or it'll bump you from class 1 to 3. Bridgestone RE720s (?) seem to be the tyre of choice, but I always just stuch with the GRad-spec CR322s you've probably still got on there.

You'll need a set of overalls and a helmet, the spec of which will be outlined in the Blue Book you get with you licence. Gloves are pretty essential and driving boots are nice to have.

Sprints range from about £50 to £90 entry and, no, you don't really need a trailer.

When you've done a few sprints, come and try racing with Grads...

Edited by - Graeme Smith on 12 Aug 2004 08:57:19

KPM - is that Binfield as in the one in Berkshire....