Click here to contact our helpful office staff ×

Brave pills

Chris__

I've been driving my SLR for a couple of months now, and after getting it back from some work, (windscreen, cage,which should've made things better) I'm still nervous driving it. Huge noise from throttle bodies frightens me more than the passengers I think...

What's the solution then? Will trackdays, a driving course help? Too skint for those at the moment though :(

Chris. 😬

Sounds like you have a big problem here

My advice is to ake propranolol 10mg i hour before you venture forth [as long as you dont have asthma ] -a test dose before you drive is a good idea .

Titrate dose upwards according to anxiety levels -ie up to 20mg,40mg .

Also check your thyroid hormone levels in case this is the cause of your anxiety.

Or get some earplugs .

Alternatively flog it and buy somethinbg a bit tamer ! ☹️

89 BDR 170 bhp yellow / black cycle C6 BJL

Auchterhouse ,Angus

lotus 7 club # 10947

club lotus # 27272

Haha! Didn't realise drugs were the answer!

I am getting on with it, but I certainly feel the car is way too good for my skills!

Is there any car that shows up bad driving and timing skills than a 7?

BTW, any joy in your search for an SLR /sale of the Roadsport Tony?

Edited by - Chris__ on 14 Jun 2004 13:35:20

Chris

I have not been trying hard at all, haven't even bothered to advertise, I just seem to be tooooooo short on hours in the day ☹️ ☹️ ☹️

Just about find enough time to get at least one blat a week in *thumbup*

Chris you will soon get the hang of it - once you do you will enjoy every minute of it *thumbup* *thumbup* *thumbup* *thumbup*

Tony

Chris

Recommend an academy day at Heyford with Motorsports Events. £100 will buy you a completely safe push to the limit, learning how to avoid an accident through cadence braking, and a big grin when doing the powersliding stuff. Good and plentiful instruction too. I'm probably going to do the academy 2 day on 24 July.