Click here if you are having website access problems ×

Replacing FIA bar

aldridgen

I have a 1999 Vauxhall 1600 live axle car and would like to powder-coat the FIA bar. Is removing and replacing the FIA bar a very involved job which should be left to the professionals or is it something that can easily be managed at home? Nick.

KayTee. Sorry, not a wind-up. As you can tell I am a complete novice, although I was led to believe there was more to it than just un-bolting the bar. Paul. Are you local to Staffordshire? I live in Newcastle, Staffs. If so I wouldnt mind a look at your er bar, if you had it plastic coated. Nick.

Come to think of it ... Maybe your FIA bar has one bolt on each vertical leg bolted into it from below, fom inside the damper turret ?

Any idea, anyone ? If that's the case, then we're talking 'shocks out' first.

Nothing much, either, but then you need axle stands.

Why not powder-coat ? Mine is, and it is a very good finish.

Regards - Karsten

Well, Si, mine is a l-a chassis, too, and the FIA bar is attached from the 'outside' only.

*BUT* it's an early-spec short-cockpit chassis.

Now you can all have a laugh on me, big-mouthed Kraut that I am ...

Sorry 'bout that !

Still, it's *only* an unbolt-it-job.

The tea would be dead and cold, though, if you waited for it ;-)

Bye for now - Karsten

Nick,