Click here to contact our helpful office staff ×

zero oil pressure

excess baggage

Happened twice on Saturday during a blat with some seriously suicidal people. No problems while they were trying to get me to kill myself on the open road as the revs were up (I mean UP) but when we stopped the pressure dropped to nil. It returned to normal after 3-4 seconds of bliping the throttle. Do I need to fit a dry sump or is there a cheaper option? I'm going on Le July as a total novice regarding track days in a 7 and I need to give myself the best chance of getting there and back without blowing it up! Ideas please.

Sounds like classic oil surge to me, when you brake hard the oil is flung to the front of the sump and rides up out of the 'well' causing the oil pickup to suck air.. not good news, if you have a normal oil level and this is happening then you need to baffle the sump or , if you are serious about it use a back up reservoir of some kind like an accusump or apollo tank, ultimately a dry sump system will cur the problem permanently.

You could try a little extra oil (up to the max level) and see what happens, but every time the pressure drops you risk permanent damage to your bearings *DONT BLIP THE THROTTLE* when the pressure is zero, it may bring the pressure up but it also risk multiplying the damage, either turn the engine off and wait a minute or two, or let it idle.

Oily

Gary,

What engine do you have??

Check the oil level (should be close to max), and if its a VX take off the sump and replace the foam insert.

Also make sure you are not using 0-40 oil (regular Mobil 1 or Comma SynerZ) as these will give very low readings at idle when very hot. (Mobil 1 Motorsport or Comma SynerG are 15/50 and 5/40 respectively and work much better)

Arnie Webb

The Fat Bloke blush.gif in a Fast Temporarily Indisposed Vauxhall wink.gif

See the R500 eater here

See the Le Mans Trip Website here