Click here if you are having website access problems ×

Understeer

DC

Having just completed my second car build (1800 SS 6 speed standard suspension) and after running in for 700 miles, I am just beginning to open it up. The one thing that I have immediately noticed that is different from my previous car (1996 1600 SS) is the new one has understeer, particularly noticeable in roundabouts and tight corners, where the nose keeps wanting to push out.

I have had the post build check, and CC say that they have checked the alignment, and the tyre pressures are correct for my 16" wheels (Avon ZZ1s now, Pilots previous). Has anybody any advise on the setup to provide a more neutral handling car.

Dave C

Try a little more toe out.

Up to 0.5 Degrees as a max. Any tyre place should have a run over or even laser guage that you can check with.

Most Road 7'ers favour 0 but if you have this then try a little toe out. Too much toe out and the car will be darting and nervous at speed.

You need a 19mm spanner to undo the nut and 11mm to turn the trackrod end. Turn both sides to keep your steering wheel central.