Click here if you are having website access problems ×

x-flow engine spec

phild21

I,m looking at a little gentle tunning on my std 105 bhp 1600 x-flow but am unsure of my starting point. What cam/ head mods does the std 7 engine have over a cooking ford x-flow?

Would a BCF 2 cam and stage 2 head be worthwhile?

Any advice gratefully recieved

phild

Although there are many things you can do to a 1600 xflow, you do start hitting the laws of diminishing returns fairly early. Bearing in mind that you need to remove the engine to replace the camshaft, I would suggest that at that stage a conversion to 1700 Supersprint may be more economic in the long run.

For example, and I have no knowledge of this company except a few references on this site, Vulcan Engineering do an exchange engine for £929 plus VAT

If you are after a mild increase, I'd recommend gasflowing the head, with unleaded conversion at the same time, plus 3D mapped ignition. The ignition will give a considerable mid range and part throttle improvement and if you have a Caterham 'unleaded' distributor at the moment you will also see top end improvements.

The flowed head will also improve the power figs.

These mods will significantly increase the engine's efficiency, so you should see increased performance, better fuel consumption and improved driveability. Although not in a spectacular state of tune, such an engine would be very pleasant to live with.

As Graham says, it is an engine out job to change the camshaft and the above suggestions would be recommended first anyway.

If the engine is coming out, you can go up to 170bhp for road use if budget allows.

Phil,

think seriously about how much you want (are able, are willing) to spend on increasing power of the engine.

The 170bhp mentioned above by Roger does NOT come cheap.

I looked at 3D mapped ignition etc and I think that I'd be into 4 figures to do that conversion.