Click here if you are having website access problems ×

Numpty tech question

not a Postman Pat

• Replies 164
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I have changed batteris which usually means a child can do it. As long as you remember what goes where it's usually a case of buying the right one - undo the screws/ bolts holding the wires to the terminals (remember which one is positive etc) Then undo the restraining clamp, device, sonic screwdriver thingie - then take the battery out, put new one in and reverse the procedure.

This will mean your radio may need re-coding though. A tip here is be really sure of what the code is and how you put it in. Mrs B learnt the hardway as everytime she got it wrong it doubled the time it took before you could have another go. In the end we had to wait about a week before she could do it right. *tongue* 😬

Funnily enough the battery on our Nissan Primera also died recently and I replaced it myself. If I can do it (and I'm a mechanical numpty) then anyone can.

Random points -

Always disconnect the live connection last and reconnect it first (basic, but it's about the level of my mechanical knowledge 😬 )

If it's a Nissan radio/tape/CD thing like ours then it'll be a four digit code required, three tries are allowed and then it locks for an hour. The code is supplied on a small (credit card-ish sized) bit of card which I finally found tucked inside the owner's manual.

If you want any more pointers then let me know *thumbup*

*wink*

Don't worry, you're at about my level 😬

The live one is the + and on our Primera has a red plasticy/rubbery cover covering the terminal and the first 2-3 inches of the wire - and if you've got the same model we have then the live is the closest to the engine, negative is closest to the wing (the bit of bodywork that goes around the wheel 😬 😬 )