Click here if you are having website access problems ×

Adjusting a pair of Weber 45s on VX

Marius

Some days ago I checked the spark-plugs of my modified 16v VX running on 45s Weber. I found that plugs of cylinder 1 and 3 were fine (brown) but cylinder 2 and 4 showed signs of coal. That should mean that the left part of each carb runs little too rich ??? Can I cure it by just turning the idle-mixture of the left part of the carb clockwise (weakens the mixture) or is it more complicated than I thought ????? Yes I know, TB´s are much better but still on my "TO DO"-list....

Thanks for your help !

Marius

Marius.

I have limited experience with these carbs (I'm on 'K' injection), but what I have found tuning other peoples is that the std. set up as supplied (normally) runs as yours does. You can only tweak the IDLE mixture so unless you spend all your time at tick over you are governed by the jet settings as supplied. Isn't there something to do with length of inlet tract too that can alter the required set up? By this I mean different jets for inboard & outboard on the same carb.

My thoughts are that you have an engine designed in the 80/90's running on carbs designed in the 30's (?). Bound to be some compromise!!

Think the above is right. If not I'm sure someone will correct me. Good Luckthumbsup.gif

Maruis, I have a Vx with twin Weber DCOE's but it is the 1600 Classic, so they are smaller size. Tuning should be similar though. It may be best to start from scratch by balancing the carbs first.

You can either listen using a tube, ie stethoscope or piece of 6mm bore tubing or use a proprietary gauge (synchrometer). The aim is to get both throttle pairs on the two 'carbs synchronised. It is also possible to do this by unscrewing the cover to the progression jet holes, just behind the mixture screws and looking to see that the throttle butterflies are at the same position for both carbs. I found this less accurate though, and tricky, as the holes are very small.