Click here to contact our helpful office staff ×

O/T Bead Blaster

F355GTS

I'm thinking of investing in a Blast Cabinet for cleaning up car parts etc, mainly aluminium castings but some steel. Does anybody know the best media to use, Machine mart seem to offer Glass Beads, Garnet or Aluminium Oxide blend in various grades *confused*

Mark

Watch out for health and safety issues. Some media are harmful if inhaled as dust(you used to be able to get black slag, which is a byproduct of the metal foundry industry, but I think it causes silicosis) and if you use them you need heavy duty extraction. Also you need different media for different base metals and finishes, depends whether you want a fine surface finish (cleaning up diecast ally) or rapid results (eg cleaning up 30 yr old car chassis for welding and painting)

I have been using one of the Machine Mart blast cabinets for a couple of years now and would offer the following observations.

As someone has already said you need a BIG compressor!

Aluminium oxide works well on steel and alloy. Particularly effective is to blast parts with the oxide first and then follow up with the glass bead. This puts a nice sheen on the material., both alloy and steel. Alloy parts stay bright for ages and resist the dirt well following this process.

If you blast parts with the oxide, particularly alloys, the finish is a bit rough and it’s difficult to remover oily fingerprints. Ideal for preparing the surface for painting though as paint really bonds to this.

I have found it absolutely invaluable for restoring parts, particularly on motorcycles.

Blasting parts has the tendency to reveal any cracks present that are not always noticeable normally. I cleaned some alloy disk brake bells recently from a Laverda Jota and was alarmed to see just how many cracks there were in one of them. They looked fine before I started!