Click here if you are having website access problems ×

Oil/ Water twin temp. measurement

Pierre Gillet

Just completed the installation on my 1.6K of a switch on dash and an oil temp. gauge on oil filter housing. The figure I read for water temperature is now about 10°C higher than it was before. I figure that it is because of the additional electric resistance of the switch (standard Caterham) that seems to amount at about 1 Ohm.

Anyone with a similar experience of this phenomena question.gif

Pierre

Pierre

I want to add an oil temp sensor to my K-series. Which sensor did you use and where did you source it from? Where and how does it attach?

Dominic

PS I'm not an electronics expert but 1 ohm sounds quite high for a switch. The resistance should be negligable. Was that resistance measured across the switch without anything attached? If it is I'd try another one.

Yes Dominic,

that's what I thought too. I have to check my controller. Also I made the measurement on another (cheap)switch not installed on the car because it was easier to do so. But I have to try accross the Caterham switch procured from caterham and which is already installed.

The temperature sender is a Rover Water temp( max 120°C). I taped the blind hole ( kind of of cylinder)that is pointing toward the rear at the base of the oil filter housing close to the filter itself. The sender is neither in the oil flow, nor in contact with the oil ( because I was concerned about a possible leak and did not dare drilling the blind hole ) really measuring the temperature of the filter housing, but I figure it is OK given that what I want to know is really when the oil is really hot before flooring the throttle.