Click here to contact our helpful office staff ×

Silverstone TDV and Tyres survey.

SvenDriver

OK no longer a virgin. Couldn't help but feel the coolness factor despite the weather. Had several "Hey, I'm at silverstone Pitside - how cool is that?" moments. Over 110 cars there apparently.

Anyway, lots of rain and a very wet track. On my Pilots at 16PSI driving was like on ice on the corners. I could feel (thanks to foam seat) that the car was drifting on all 4 tyres on the corners even at slowish speeds.

So, how did everyone else get on with tyres and predictability?

I didn't have much grip relative to others perhaps but I did stay on track and was reasonably confident that I was doing as much as the tyres could cope with.

Bags of fun.

Tyres where great - Yoko A539 at 20PSI. Learnt a lot about the car, expecially how stable it is under hard braking from 100 to 40-50 for Luffield off the straight. Even the standard brakes seem great to me (but apparently I have an uprated master cylinder). I locked up breifly going into turn 1.

The guys from hyperion where useful to talk to & have got me wondering whether I have an LSD - they thought I might cos of the symptoms I described & the age / overall spec of the car. That would be a nice surprise - am going to jack up the back tomorrow & find out!!

Also learnt that I have a big front anti roll bar which explains why the car tends to understeer rather than over steer (I didnt have any back end moments at all today - good for car preservation, but less good for playing on a wet track.

I also saw a lot of stuff I would like to spend money on!! *smile* 😳