Click here if you are having website access problems ×

R300 1.8 VVC running lumpy

tim.howard

Hi

This is my first year with a Caterham, I put the car away around a month ago to avoid road salt, in a garage with boiler and on a battery charger.  Over the weekend the temptation got too great and i decided to go for a run.  At start up she coughed and spluttered a little, I thought it would clear as she warmed on the run, but anything more than half throttle saw reduction in power and uneven running with the odd back fire... sadly after 20mins I was back in the garage with minor idling problems too.  Also if I hold a steady throttle at say 3.5k revs then the revs gain gradually to the red line.

Any thought on how to cure welcome.

Tim

Does sound like the ECU is not getting the right picture of what the engine is doing ...

Definitely check the TPS wiring as above.

Just a few additional thoughts:

Is the engine EU3 or EU2?

EU3 will have coils on top of the plugs, a big plastic cover on top of the engine that covers about half of the metal cam cover to protect the coils, and just a thin low voltage wiring loom entering this from the rear. Probably a wedge-shaped ECU with two black connectors. EU2 will have a coil down on the side of the engine, just a thin plastic strip cover down the centre of the cam cover with 4 HT leads leading under it from the coil. Probaby a box-shaped ECU with one black and one red connector.

If EU3, you can plug an OBDII diagnostic scanner into the diagnostic connector which should be somewhere round about the driver's right knee, probably just dangling loose from the wiring loom and probably hiding behind the knee trim panel. Unfortunately the MEMS2J ECU used on the EU2 VVC engine didn't support OBDII. OBDII scanners with "live data" facility can be had very cheaply on eBay and will allow you to see what information the ECU is getting from its various sensors.