Click here if you are having website access problems ×

Been asked before...

Red SLR

I know I know I know - but I have about 7 posts left so I thought I had better get rid of them quick.

Throttle Bodies.

I saw a DIY set today for about £1700. The set contained a Luminton (?) ECU, TB's, trumpets, fuel rails / lines, fuel regulator and bits and bobs.

Has anybody had experiance of this kit - is it easy to fit? The ECU also comes with lap top link etc - is this hard to get your head round C7 KJT will vouch that I am not that good with computers... alright with Unix though for some strange reason.

Any way I was considering buying the kit today but then I thought what if it needs more bits etc, the instructions sounded simple enough but they always do.

Also will my warrinty go donw the pan if I fit them?

Any comments welcome, p*** off etc I am thick skined.(my missus would just say fat)

Later

Simon.

X777CAT

I saw the advertised kit in the Demon Tweeks catalogue. If it is plug compatable with the existing MEMS unit and it comes with a good throttle connection mechanism it should be easy to fit. I ran DT and asked about buying the throttle quadrant alone but they would only split the package to include all of the throttle bits at £67. I would like to here how others have rigged this as I'm not happy with direct connection to the supplied arm from above.

You will still have to make a bracket for the fuel regulator but that isn't difficult.

Tony ,

I ( and Rob ) just fitted the QED throttle boddies to my k series . The luminition kit I believe is the same boddies as QED - that is made by Jenvey with a different label on them .

The throttle linkage is quite cumbersome on the supplied kit so I've used an excellent design from Rob Walker wich uses the original throttle cable and comes in from above . Rob also had design drawings for the plates to attach the original feul rail , injectors etc to the Throttle boddies . These look very neat and not "DIY" .