Click here if you are having website access problems ×

freestyle handling kit

k.russell

thinking of fitting freestyle kit to my 1992 HPC (2L VX) also wide track, unsure whether to fit there adjustable front roll bar or use cat supplied, anyone done this mod, any recomendations or advice. car is road car i have had from new. not done any track days yet 😳

Does anyone have widetrack with 2L VX with a cat anti-roll bar, if so, what diameter. on my standard set up i have 5/8. I have seen a few cars at club sprints with a freestyle type adjustable bar,would it be wise for me to fit this as i have little knowledge of car set up 🤔.I will speak to freestyle this week, but would welcome any advice from anyone who has done a similar conversion. ps. steve, my only excuse might be i have no money left . 😳

KEV.

On my VX.

I had the post 96 soft setup and widetrack running the 3/4" or 19mm bar.

I changed to 250lb front springs and Freestyles adjustable bar. I am told that this is between ~5/8"

down to ~3/8". I have only tried it in anger on track on a dry setup.

I got too much dive on braking with the standard springs. This was improved with 250lb front springs but a tad of understeer was introduced. This was dialed out with the Freestyle bar on 5/8" setting.

Now I have upped the rears to 180lb and think I need 300lb fronts. I aim to have them along with me to the test day in March so I can swap.

My racing pics, 7 DIY, race prep. Updated often here

Photo's of the year here

Hants (North) and Berkshire Area club site here

just fitted the freestyle lightweight ali dampers and springs (road and trackday version - which I believe just means it is polybushed) to my 1.4SS.