Click here if you are having website access problems ×

Early Caterham front suspension

plop32

Hello all,

I am new to your club.  I am now the proud owner of a 1989 1700 Super Sprint.  So far I have put a couple of hundred miles on it and I am in love.  The car has 60000 miles on it but has been well maintained, waxoyled and rebuilt when necessary.  

The question I have is: with the old style front suspension, has anyone come up with an way to set caster and camber?  

Thanks, in advance

Pete

Pete 

where about are you based ? 

I do know that the likes of Nick Potter  would help with set up at his facility in the East Midlands ( there are a few independents that know the older set ups )

he has loads of experience in set up of these cars having raced them and been a C C Midlands manager 

granted he is a business so there will be a bill ! 

I'm no expert on the original suspension, but I think I remember chatting to a guy with an early car and he had a bolt on conversion to a top wishbone with separate anti roll bar. If I remember correctly, it would be worthwhile upgrade if you aren't worried about originality

Thanks, I appreciate the info.  D.J's conversion is very interesting.  I thought someone would have figured something like that out.  Does anyone have a name?  I also thought of using excentric bushings in lower A arms.    It runs great I would just like to play with camber a bit.

plop32