Click here if you are having website access problems ×

Oil usage

Nick W

Hi all

My car (R400) seems to be ingesting oil at quite a high rate. Haven't worked out its usage over the last 1,000 miles, but I have certainly put a couple of litres into it recently although this did include a track day. This is much more than my old 1.6 std car used.

I seem to remember a thread sometime ago (that I couldn't find) which said the VHPD engine had quite a thirst for oil. I guess I just want to know if this is normal!

Any thoughts/comments appreciated.

Cheers

Nick

NIck

Do not worry too much as:

a) The engine is quite new and still needs to bed in a bit.

b) Is it dry sumped - if so the capacity of the K bell housing is quite small, so only a small ammount of usage is noticable.

Keep it topped up, and do not worry.

Ps I have no K series experience, so take the above with a pinch of salt ......

Greg, Q 86 NTM (Green 185BHP XF)

Greg

Thanks for the reply- it is dry sumped but even if the bell housing is small, surely the oil has to go somewhere *confused*.

Anyway- am watching it like a hawk and after recent oil fill (last night) it seems to be running a sensible pressure.

Nick

I've read reviews of other VHPD-equipped cars that suggested that they ingest oil at a high rate all the time that they are used hard, and that this is normal - just keep an eye on it! My 1.6 standard K seems to use almost none, whatever i do to it, over a year of a race series and a dozen track days it barely ever needed a top up. Bizarre!

our VHPD used none for the first 1500 miles. then from 1501 -> 3500 it consumed 1/2L.

now it's back to durn near zero consumption.

the best trick i was shown, by one of the guys at rat race was how to read it. i'd used the dipstick which is (a) useless, (b) wrong , and © not a true indication of the amount when the engine is running.

make sure the engine is fully WARMED UP, and leave it running in idle. take bonnet off...