Click here if you are having website access problems ×

TYRE SIZES

Guy Lowe

Did a search in the archives under “tyres” and spent the WHOLE day reading threads on the subject, but it has answered most of my questions.

I have recently bought a 1700XF S/Sprint which has 15” x 6½” Prisoner wheels and 195.50.15 Michelin Pilots. Completed in 1995 done 5000 miles and been in a garage for the last 5 years. The tyres are like new and boy are they hard, hence the “skittish” handling I suppose.

So the tyres have got to go, I will not be racing or doing tack days so I have decided (I think) to fit Yokohama A539’s, my question is should I fit 195.50.15’s or 205.50.15’s? and at what pressure (for road use) should they be run at and for the time being, what pressure should I put in the old Michelin’s ( I know, enough to blow them apart).

As you can probably tell I am new to all this and this is my first 7, so any help would be appreciated, must try and get to the Hants. (North) & Berks meeting at the end of the month.

Guy

Guy,

I have no experience of Sevens on 'Prisoner' wheels - but most folks on here seem to go with the the theory that unless you have huge power to contain, narrower tyres are better than phat ones. more nimble, more driftable, sharper steering etc.

so sticking with 195's would seem like a good idea. if you do insist on going up to 205's, just remember that you need to lower the side profile to compensate the new increased width. ie, the '50' part of your tyre size needs reduced, (to 45 likely) otherwise the overall diameter will be increased, and your speedo can read incorrectly and you may have rubbing problems.

as for pressures, Sevens run much lower pressures than normal 'tin-top' road cars (probably due to low weight, and need for grip?). lots of people talk about 16-22psi being good, and I myself run at at 20 (on 185/70/13 tyres).

hope this helps.