Click here if you are having website access problems ×

Idiot Question Part 2!

Anthony Micallef

I have just read the thread 'Idiot Questions' with great interest and it has prompted me to ask something that has been niggling me for a while. I apologise in advance if it really is a stupid question. Here goes!

I am a fairly average driver with average skill behind the wheel. When it comes to anything mechanical i'm completely useless. What I want to know is how do I go about finding out if my 7 is set up correctly? What I mean is, does the car handle as well as it can or is it just that i'm a crap driver? Could there be room for improvement or do I need some driver training? Can I just give the car to CC and say, sort it please?

I would be grateful if someone could throw some light on the subject for me. I apologise if I haven't put my point across very well.

The Happy 7 Owner 😬 😬 😬

Exactly the same sort of things went through my mind when I got my car in October.

I felt it handled poorly and felt very skittish on b-roads. Of course all my previous experience in cars that 'handle' were front drivers so I figured my senses needed re-calibrating.

The Caterham is an ideal beast to set-up in terms of handling and I figured in the end that handling is purely about personal taste and style. The trick is to first understand your own style. Therefore I intend a healthy number of trackdays in the summer to get a better handle on how well I drive and what set-up suits me.

I looked critically at the suspension set-up as the car came to me and decided that as the dampers where 55K miles old, they could probably do with changing along with a general refresh of the suspension. I opted for the Freestyle road/track lightweight ali springs/dampers setup because they looked good value, seemed to be rated by several blatchatters and were adjustable for height and damping. The idea is that I can play with the set-up to suit my style.