Click here if you are having website access problems ×

Xflow Compression Query

M1ke

HI, I'm a newbie 7er and I wondered if you could help.

I recently bought an '87 1700 Xflow with 17500 miles, which at the time of buying, was running well with no smoke (see where this is going?). After a few weeks of blatting I've started to notice more and more smoke from the engine, especially when pushing hard at higher speeds 60+. The car hasn't been reved excessively, I'm still changing shortly after 5K when really going for it. Although the car is happy to rev much higher.

I was aware of this weakness when buying the 7 but couldn't see any signs of trouble (no compression readings taken). Taking them now I get (Front to back) 180, 150, 132, 145.

Q1 Are these Ok, bad or really bad?

Q2 What are the most likely causes? Wore piston rings I assume, others?

Q3 Does the large variance indicate anything?

Q4 What's it gonna cost?

Q5 Anything I can do to reduce the problem?

Thanks all and happy blatting

Mike S

Ps. Thanks L7CGB for the excellent blatchat.com

It certainly looks a little strange. The readings should be within 10% so if 180 is highest, the lowest should be greater than 162.

Firstly, checking technique, the engine should be warm and all spark plugs removed. If you are using the Gunson gauge then I have found that this can sometimes unscrew itself between screwing it in and getting back to the starter key. It is worth double checking.

If you still have low values, put a tablespoon of engine oild down the bore about to be tested. If things improve then you have a problem with piston rings - otherwise it could be head gasket or valve seats.