Click here if you are having website access problems ×

Tyres question (Yes I know, but I'm new to this!!)

So currently have 5 (including unused spare bolted to back) ZV3's which are past end of life (i.e. have 2004 date codes 😳)

Planning to replace 4 'on road' tyres with Yoko 048s (which are directional), but dilema is should I buy a fifth for spare and run 50/50 risk of running spare backwards, or should I save my money and use the unused ZV3 which is bi-directional, as spare/emergency tyre.

Also, has anyone got any stats on whether punctures are more common on nearside or offside - i.e. if I went for a fifth 048 which side should I set it up for?

😶‍🌫️

Bob

1 You're about to get answers based on not carrying a spare and suggesting nothing (± 'phone and payment card), sealing foam and bits of rubber that act as plugs.

2 If you aren't happy with that any combination will almost certainly get you home safely as long as you put very little force through it. So I'd use the cheapest and self-control.

Welcome

Jonathan

I suppose one alternative is to find some half decent bi-directional tyres (currently running on 185/60 R14's).

Any suggestions?

Bob

A spare on the back could mitigate the impact of a rear end shunt, one reason I run with that ballast behind, + the usual use of a spare tyre if needed.

Fortunately never had to use it, so just replacing some very elderly Yoko S707 for A021R, in all positions.

Nigel.

I'm in a similar position myself. I kept the best ZV3 as my spare and have never needed to use one in 45,000 miles. Another problem with trying to keep five matching tyres is how to manage tyre rotation. It's much easier to just have front and back axles to worry about. As long as the tyre is not rotten it is good for getting home. I have also considered having a rear wheel cover to prolong the life of the spare but have never seen a cover I like the look of.

Quoting MadCat52: