Click here to contact our helpful office staff ×

Another weight question

Julian Bradley

Oh dear. No....I am not a lawyer. What is worrying, is that I work FOR the Bar (and not the one many of us know and love) and I must have contracted whatever tragic medical condition that afflicts those unforunates, and causes them to speak, ipso facto, latin.

ANyway, I am now worried that (a) I give a stuff about the weight of my car, and (b) people think I'm a lawyer. You can't really sink much lower.....

Julian,

I've heard rumours of arround 30Kg. In other words quite allot!

Although in real terms this means little as no 2 cars are identical, and the ital live axle does have a BHP limit that is quite low, and a Ford English axle maybe heavier.

I would not worry that you are concerned by the weight of your car - this is quite normal and is part of the upgraditis affliction - I'd worry more about the speaking latin problem. 😬

Greg, Q 86 NTM (Green 185BHP XF)

*smile*

Ital axled Supersprint. They never told me how slow they go with a passenger!

And I used to think carpe diem was something to do with fish.....and I can see this thread getting unnecessarily esoteric. I got the full De La Salle Christian Botherers treatment, academically. Thus, ne te carbarundum illegitemi was our watchword.

Whatevever: good to know my museum piece is lighter than lardy SVs.....

Hi

A live axle X flow car (No two cars are the same due to spec) is at least 40 KGs lighter , 35 for axle/chassis, 4 speed box inxs of 5 KGs lighter.

The 4 speed transmission is good for 170 bhp, so unless your going steel engine, the ITAL AXLE and 4 speed sport box is more than adequate.

CHEERS

CHRIS

If it's any help, I weighed my 88 live axled 4 speed Xflow car some years ago and it came in at 525kgs with half a tank of fuel. Add to that if you run a heater, carpets or hood.

Daft question - if you weighed each wheel of the car on bathroom scales and added the four together, how accurate would that be?