Click here if you are having website access problems ×

"Good" Engineering Practice

Tony C

I've been doing a lot of research in the Blatchat archives while waiting for my SV kit to arrive and have learned a tremendous amount about the various problems that people have encountered, either with their build or in service.

I looks like the engineering experience level is pretty wide.

Following-on from the torque value for the blue bolts which attach the prop shaft to the diff. discussion and whether "Loctite" should be used and torque values with lubrication. I was wondering if there was sufficient interest in collectively starting a "Generally accepted good engineering practice" thread.

I'm an ex-aircraft mechanic and have access to the modern version of "Civil Aircraft Inspection Procedure", which lays-down basic engineering practice acceptable to the aircraft maintenance industry. Some of it is a bit OTT for cars, but I'm sure there are other Blatchaters who have vast experience in car maintenance and other technical areas who could give their input.

This would all be aimed at improving basic knowledge for people who would like to fiddle with their Se7ens, without making basic (potentially expensive) errors.

Tony

I think it would be a brilliant idea, however rather than a Thread I think it would be more useable if it was a simple searchable database.

I would be happy to 'host' this on my site, anybody out there have the skills to provide the Database?

Mark

Miraz,

I don't know how you're going to set it up, but we're going to have to be careful that the entries are verifyable FACTS and not just people's opinions, however well intentioned.

Maybe you'd be interested in moderating too.

Tony