Click here if you are having website access problems ×

Pink Caterham Fireblade at Woodbridge trackday today

Mankee

What a beauty! 🥰 I really wanted one of these back when I was a student and first saw it in evo. Mental little car for hot hatch money the article said if I remember rightly. Really want to have a proper look around at lunch time, as it's the first one I've seen in the flesh, but we had a bigger incident to deal with.

Hi Mankee, that's was me, in my tatty James Whiting original prototype blade the one that was used for the Evo article *wink*

I had an incident with a bollard just before lunch, tore the offside rear arch off, so trailered up and headed home.

I hope you wasn't in the MX5? The air ambulance was turning up as I left Circuit, I hope they're ok?

Ah, I had a feeling you were an Essex member! But I couldn't remember who exactly. I hope you haven't sustained too much damage in your impact? I think I picked up some bits of lights as well as some fibreglass. I have some spare lights from another member, a tatty but useable o/s black rear arch and other stuff if you need any parts for the repair? My car sustained similar cosmetic damage at a wet Spa last October with a friend behind the wheel.

Regarding the MX5, I wasn't in it, but it rolled about 15m away from me; I'm a marshall at Woodbridge you see and it was my corner that it happened. Was a bit of a shock, but the gist of it is that the passenger escaped in a daze and the driver is having a few nights in Ipswich Hospital as his heart had stopped by the time we got him out. But he is making a good recovery, thanks to the on-site medics and East Anglian Air Ambulance. *thumbup*

Anyway, it was great to see a 'blade being used properly. Looked incredibly light on its wheels and surprisingly quiet for a bike engine too. *smile*

I've recently moved to Suffolk, Ipswich in fact! Glad the Mx5 guys are going to be ok.