Click here to contact our helpful office staff ×

Ignition system for vx HPC (HELP!)

AndyLake

Can anyone out there help with my questions about the ignition system on my 2L vx HPC, I'm no expert so please don't shoot me down if I use the incorrect wording / or have made the wrong assumptions

I have recently found out that the ignition system on my car consisted of a distributor from a 1984 1.4 vauxhall (Bosch No 0231186039) !!this had a disconnected vacuum advance on its side and what appears to be an optical trigger inside. Three wires go to a seperate amplifier (inside an ali heat-sink block) which then feeds the coil. This distribritor had a collar at the mounting point to the engine which allowed for timing adjustment. The distributor shaft which normally enters the end of the cam shaft had been cut off and the hole in the cam shaft blocked with a screw & resin. As for how the car was running - it suffered from miss fire at higher revs, which may have been a result of the distributor.

So I'am trying to fit the correct part :

A standard distributor for the C20 XE (post 91) was purchased (Vauxhall No 90350593, Bosch No 0237521026), this distributor has a 3 pin socket on the side (marked + 0 - ), a suitable plug has been obtained but I don't know the connection method from here to the amplifier , or is an amplifier actually required ? and if not; how would the distributor connect direct to the coil?

I have also asked Caterham Tech the same question, they stated that there is no seperate amplifier but have not (so far) been able to advise how to connect the distributor with the coil.

Andy (new to the great form of transport since Jan this year)

ideas ?