Click here if you are having website access problems ×

Power Outputs

Tim Smith

I'm new to this Sevens business having bought one in August after running around on lairy japanese motorbikes for many years. One thing that's puzzling me is the quoted power outputs from various engines is various states of tune:

1) Are they measured or calculated outputs?

2) If they are measured, where, at the back wheels or at the crank?

Most bike power outputs in reviews are taken as measured at the back wheel which after all is where it actually counts! This seems to me to be a sensible approach in that any claims are fairly easily verified without having to drop the engine to check the tuner's/manufacturer's claims.

One particular claim that seems highly suspicious to me is the 252hp claimed for the Radical SR3 running a tuned 1500cc Hayabusa engine. From my knowledge of bike motors this seems rather high as even a very quick Streetbike class drag racer is unlikely to have much more than 200hp at the back wheel running a normally aspirated motor running on pump petrol without the aid of nitrous.

Anyone like to comment?

Maybe the 252hp is calculated power output at the piston crowns!

The 252 will be brake horse power. In the case of this engine which is well tuned I would assume it is measured on a dyno as "flywheel output". Not sure what that would equate to as power at the wheels.

In most cases with regard to 7's on this forum you will see bhp that is either manufacturer quoted (measured on dyno during engine development) for standard engines, bhp that is inferred from rolling road tuning (for most one-offs), or bhp measured on a dyno for more race developed engines.

I'll leave it to others more knowlegable than me to argue, but I understand that power at the wheels is not that useful a measure as it differs with different measurement methods due to the ways that transmission losses work.