Click here if you are having website access problems ×

AP aluminium master cylinder plumbing........

Blatman

I may be about to embarrass myself........ 😳

I have a Caterham AP ally master cylinder (as I guess, quite a few of you do) which I fitted in place of the inadequate (when using 4 pots) standard Girling thing. It has been brough to my attention that it may be incorrectly plumbed in. I have (as has just about every other Se7en I have ever looked at) fitted it so that the outlet nearest the front of the car is the front circuit, and the outlet nearest the flange/pedal operates the rear circuit. A call to AP this morning has confirmed that this is WRONG 😳 😳

Apparently, the rearmost outlet, nearest the pedal, should be working the fronts, and the front outlet is for the rear circuit. This is based on a calculation of fluid flow (and other internal workings of the cylinder). The chap at AP said that for a road car, it wouldn't make much, if any, difference to the operation of the braking system, but that during a race scenario, the extra capacity of fluid that is transported by the rear most outlet of the cylinder would help with the effects of pad knock off/long pedal, etc. I asked if the extra fluid supplied to the rear outlet is partly to blame for the "rears locking first" issues that Se7ens have, and if swapping round the circuits would resolve it. I was told it wouldn't, which is a shame, BUT having the circuits fed by the wrong section of the master cylinder can't be "a good thing" IMO...........

Does anyone have any experience or opinion on what I have been told, 'cos my next phone call is going to be to order some longer Goodridge hoses so that I can put my braking system right...............