Click here if you are having website access problems ×

Stripped thread on bike crank, advice please

Jonathan Kay

The pedal thread in the RH crank on my bike is stripped. Deore XT, alloy, Dawes Galaxy, about a year old. I think I've got too main options: remove and replace the crank, or fit a threaded insert. As it's the RHS I think I'll try the threaded insert.

I've never done this or tapped a thread before. What sort of insert would you use and any other advice on how to do this? Or would you replace the crank?

I found this advice on the Park site.

Thanks

Jonathan

Not sure about the XT, but some of the Shimano cranks (like some of the SLX cranks) have threaded inserts for this reason. Had some fun getting pedals out of those in the past... This was one of them:

http://gp1.pinkbike.org/p4pb8776220/p4pb8776220.jpg

Had to file flats in to it to get in a vice.

Anyway, I've never had a crank helicoiled or modified to accept a threaded insert. I'd err on the side of caution, they are made of cheese after all. Also, unless you're lucky with the threadlock, the pedal will likely pull the insert out with it each time, like mine did. If you've never done it before, get a shop to do it while you watch.

Personally, I think it's time for an upgrade 😬 What BB are you running?

Taking the LH crank off will not disturb bearings.

You do need a spacial splined tool to remove the end cap/screw (item 1). Slacken the allen bolts first then unscrew.

You don't need to remove the 2 small allen bolts completely, they just need to be slackened enough to allow the crank to be pulled off. The RH crank can then be pulled through with the chain rings still attached.

The bearing cups will remain screwed into the BB housing.

Be careful to note the various spacers and O rings as these will need to be re-installed in the correct orientation.

Phil