Click here to contact our helpful office staff ×

Big fat PRRT

Labergorce

Hello all, newbie here, well returning member but new to K series. I used to have a roger king crossflow about 8 years ago and have just come back to the fold having recently purchased a 1600 SS.

I, of course, have been doing the due diligence on these pages knowing nothing about k series engines until 2 weeks ago. And i have to say what a fantastic resource these pages are. I now think i know just enough to be dangerous... *smile*

Obviously the first thing i'm going to do is install the PRRT. so i ordered the part from LR parts and it has arrived in a rather fetching greeny cream colour. I phoned them up to ensure it was the right one and the chap confirmed it was the one with the weaker spring but couldn't confirm the temperature. He said it wasn't the 88 degree one so i'm assuming its the right one. His comment was the original LR part is grey but the replacement non OEM ones can be different colours.

Any one else come across this? Oh and it's quite a bit bigger than i imagined it would be not having seen any photos of installs 😳 Not sure i want to add that much weight *biggrin*

Oh and one other question, i have a Left/Right switch between the water temp gauge and the oil press gauge that when i switch to the right the water temp gauge drops to zero - any idea what it may be supposed to be reading? i'm assuming whatever it is is broken or possibly never installed?

cheers

Mark

• Area Representative
Rather than a PRRT, I suggest you modify your cooling system to the layout shown in Low Flying last September. If that was before you joined, I could scan the article and send it to you. There is a thread on this matter. I will see if I can find it.

Welcome back Mark.