Click here if you are having website access problems ×

Side Mirrors

JamesA

Has anyone tired the side mirrors sold by Seven Accessories? I do a fair amount of driving without the side screens and have harnesses so side view mirrors would be nice. The picutures on the weebsite of the mirrors look nice and they look easy to install, any opinions about these?

Hi James

I have a pair of these mirrors, and find them to be good.

Because the mirror stems are L shaped each mirror can be mounted either on the left or the right, thus the mirror head can be eithr at the top or bottom of the mounting stem, it gives adjustment, based on driver height and preference.

I have found that while the high position gives a better rearward view, it tends in that position to osbure my natural eyeline when drving forwards and looking forwards at about 1.00 o clock.

Better than the standard mirror.

John Gathard

James; I have no experience of the side mirrors you talk about but there are also the "German style" mirrors. You do not see them often but seem to be a good solution as you can run with side screens on or off. I have heard that they take some setting up but once set are very good with very little shake. To see what I am talking about look here. I called these people and I was refered to Redline in Caterham.

Is it SUMMER yet? 😬

Marc "Bentley Boy" Hicks has a pair of these German mirrors (sourced from Mick at Redline) and he loves them. They do appear to be effective and he combines them with wind deflectors.

Personally I don't think the style looks right on modern 7s.

I intend to get a pair of the Seven Accessory clamps and attach a pair of SPA mirrors to them, as many of the racers use.

I guess Nifty it's all about taste I have been looking for an alternative mirror for some time. I saw the German style for the first time this summer and thought they were just the right for the seven gives it that classic look. Actually I thought very Jim Clark, cool *cool*