Click here if you are having website access problems ×

Upgrade advice

WindyMiller

Well Ladies and Gents, here's the question,

What should I do to upgrade my se7en this winter?

As a guide the supersport package fitted by Caterham is £1000.

Background- It is a 9 month old 1.8 roadsport (basic tune), fitted with, FIA bar, harnesses, leather seats and everything else as bog standard. It is a great little road car and has done about 4500 miles so far. I built it as a novice, so can work out which end of a spanner is which, but I have very little experience with engines! I know someone, I think it's Demon tweeks, does the supersport upgrade ( bits only ) for about £850. I intend spending somewhere in this range. I chatted at the festival and an Emerald ECU seemed a well endorsed alternative.

I throw this one to the collective and see what you reckon?

Thanks in advance *thumbup*

Andy *thumbup* *wink* *thumbup*

Emerald / DVA do a package of emerald ECU and cams similar to supersport cams for that sort of price. And it means the ECU is programmable whereas the SS one isn't. And its can be mapped properly so you'll get much better response and low range than the SS kit.

Do you have a std or long primary exhaust 🤔 If the 4 primaries join inside the car then you really need to upgrade this as well - powerspeed will do this for 450 until the end of the month.

so (inc VAT)

exhaust: 450

emerald: 600

SS like cams: 300 ???

mapping: not much as a few cars in this spec exist already.

That will get you to the 140 bhp range (throttle bodies will get you to about 150).

HOOPY 500 kg R706KGU

/HIJACK>

Does that mean the standard ECU can cope with upgraded cams?

I had always assumed that cams/ECU needed to coma as a package.

Will the standard ECU cope with BP285 cams? what sort of increase could you expect froom this?

/HIJACK/OFF

Tom