Click here if you are having website access problems ×

Draining the cooling system - 1600 XFlow

Dirty Den

I'd like to change the coolant in my crossflow this weekend. I've done a search and I'd just like to check my understanding, make sure I've got it right. The suggestions to do it seem to be:

1. Undo hose from bottom of radiator and drain cooling system, reattach hose.

2. Fill system with water/coolant.

3. To force any airlocks out of the system, jack car up at front, let car down. Repeat for rear of car.

4. Fill again as necessary.

5. Take car for drive to check.

Is there anything I've missed? My cooling system is not a sealed system. How would the procedure differ for a sealed system?

On a related issue, the person that I bought my 7 from suggested to use distilled water in the cooling system, but I've just added a tap water/coolant mix as I've needed to top it up - I've never used distilled water like that before *confused*. I guess using distilled water would stop furring from taking place - does anyone else use distilled water in this way? Should I do so when refilling the cooling system?

TIA,

Den

😬 - Self portrait - still unable to remove the smile!

Den

I only normally jack the front up, fill the system and then squeeze the bottom hose several times until air bubbles stop rising in the filler cap.

With regard to what to fill it with I use the Comma pre mixed coolant (I think it changed its name recently) but its available in 5 litre containers from most independant motor stores

Hope this helps but I'm sure another Xflow owner will be along in a minute *cool* 😬

Graham

*confused* The not so New Competition Secretary, in fact already jaded *confused*

*cool* 1700 Live Axle X/Flow, new pb at Curb, Loton Park and Shelsley Walsh in 2002 *cool*

Den,