Click here to contact our helpful office staff ×

Crack test good

Peter Carmichael

Any spec changes?

Have been thinking about a bit more cam duration on the inlet side to see if there is any more power to be had, but I don't want to wreck the mid range. I haven't seen any engines on bigger valves getting up to bigger power levels, so I can't see myself going with bigger valves.

No ideas really, just that the bigger valved engines haven't necessarily resulted in bigger power. Roger King is of the opinion that a bigger valve size could release more power. Rob Walker has bigger exhaust valves certainly, but his #1227 cammed engine peaks before 8000rpm.

The valves I have been running for the past two years are 32.5 on the inlet side and 27.3 on the exhaust side. The inlets are 1mm bigger than standard VVC fare and the exhausts are standard size. I can't put the material back if it is ported for bigger valves, but I can see how the rebuilt engine responds to a change in cams and change back if it introduces nasties. Seems like the best course of action to me considering how good the engine was last time around.

Thanks Peter, agreed that if you have a good design why change - it will be good to see the engine (and you) back again.

My friend and I saw you talking to Hugh (I think) on the Cadence stand on Saturday (16.00 ish) and I said that I should ask how the crack testing was going. My Friend was then quite rude as he remembers pushing you car last year at Brooklands when the starter was broken. He suggested he could start a "I've pushed PC's car club" but then remarked that it would not be that exclusive. *eek*

Got any timescales ?

Greg, Q 86 NTM (Green 185BHP XF)

I remember those days. I did go to the bother of getting a new exhaust made up to clear the race starter motor that has provided reliable service ever since. Apologies and thanks in equal measures go to all those who have pushed over the years.