Click here if you are having website access problems ×

Steam cleaning engine bay

Richard Anderson

I know that a Renault dealership ( in Belgium )refuses to do it also because of all the electronics in the engine bay. There is always the possebility that you blow water in to the electrical connections and even in the airfilter and when a diesel swallows some water it can bent the rods.

The best way is to clean it with a rag and WD40 or related product

When I was a student, I spent one summer working at a Mercedes Dealership cleaning cars.

We steam cleaned the engines all the time and simply covered alarms/distributers/anything electric with carrier bags to prevent water penetration. Didn't have one problem all summer.

I would however be careful about steam hitting the chassis members because it may (I don't actually know) strip the powder coat. The theory behind this being that I did see a steam cleaner accidentally take the paint off the plastic bumper of a Honda Civic.

C7 GAR

Oh Yes Yes Yes Yes

Edited by - Gary G on 22 Sep 2002 22:19:43

• Area Representative

Came back from the fortnightly trip to France and the wife's GTI left on the drive in the summer's torrential rain caused buggery with some of the electrics. Not sure what happened but obviously some damp got in and had the car cutting out at 50/60 mph (in a long and fast moving stream of rush hour traffic!), tacho needle going wild whilst ticking over and oil warning light flashing constantly - the car had been fine when parked up and this was without taking a steam cleaner to the engine bay at all!! Just the damp over a couple of weeks....