Click here to contact our helpful office staff ×

creaking dedion

alicat

The creaking has been driving me nuts - the other half says it's me thats creaking not the car!

The car creaks when I get in it (no I'm not thet heavy) and creaks under acceleration.

Anyway found the problem, front of the A frame where it attaches to the car. If I slaken the bolts off the craking goes, if I tighten them back up no creak for a couple of miles, then it comes back.

Firstly, anyone else had the problem (it may be normal I'm new to Se7en ownership). If not any cures? and is there a correct way to torque up these joints?

🤔

I have no technical assisance to offer, but I can confirm that my old x/flow (1990) and Al Crickmore's old x/flow (1993) both creaked in a similar way to which you describe.

If your car is a X/Flow: "they all do that, sir".

C7 GAR

Oh Yes Yes Yes Yes

the problem is probably that the rubber bush has 'parted' and rather than the rubber moving with the A frame going up and down, the two sides of the crack (ahem) are rubbing against each other. Either change the A frame or get it re-bushed (not sure how to do the latter though).

Graham

Well I always like a pessimist *wink*

I will no doubt find out in the morning - although when I tried it earlier round the block with the bolts slackened off there was no noise - it only comes back when the bolts are tightened right up - hence my question on correct torque. At this moment I am optamistic that if torqued correctly there won't be a problem (no doubt you will prove me wrong).

Logically if they are tightened right up the will restrict the movement of the A frame and hence it creaks

I will let you know how it pans out