Click here if you are having website access problems ×

HELP - BUYING ADVICE NEEDED

andyvicarage

Im new to this. I'm looking to buy my first car.

I like these two.

http://www.pistonheads.com/sales/1983539.htm

http://www.pistonheads.com/sales/2085304.htm

I would appreciate any comments or advice on the cars, and if you think the price is about right.

Unfortunately I live about 4 hours drive away so I want to be fairly sure before I travel.

Many thanks

You've posted links to 2 very different cars, one is an SV, the other a normal S3.

I would suggest you head down to Caterham Midlands (assuming your Leicestershire location is correct) and proverbially try them for size, they're very different. I'm not comfortable in an SV, it's too big (no comments from anyone please *wink*) so wouldn't even consider one irrespective of how nice it might be.

Buying from a dealer will 99% of the time be more expensive than from a private sale. Although I'd be wary of buying a normal tintop privately, buying a 7 can be somewhat different, 7 club members cars tend (sweeping generalisation I know) to be a bit better cared for, after all you're probably buying from another enthusiast.

Talk to other members at your local area meetings, sit in their cars, kick their tyres and try to build your ideal specification, then go hunting...you probably won't find it exactly, but you might find one close that then with a little bit of extra spending it turns into what you want.