Click here if you are having website access problems ×

Car cutting out

MikeW

Had my 1600VX for about 3 weeks now and done a few hundred miles of driving with no problems. Picked it up from Caterham after a race service on Friday ( who were really helpful) but tonight was the first chance to go out for a blast. Went over a bit of a rise at speed and the car cut out ( first time ever)Coasted to a stop, turned the key and the car immediately fired up. About 10 miles later blasting along a flat piece of road in 5th and the car again momentarily cut out but picked up again before I had lost much speed. It 'feels' as if it may be a problem with the carbs flooding or something similar but I'm a complete novice at this. I'll check the plugs ( and speak to Caterham tomorrow) but any advice appreciated. I have a track day next week and need to get things sorted out by then. It may not be related to the service at all ( and I don't know whether they touched the carbs) but I did 150 miles on a trip the previous weekend with absolutely no problems

Only other thing I can think of is I filled up with Super unleaded tonight

Thanks

Mike

Most likely is electrical and battery leads are a good place to start. Engine earthing strap should be mounted onto bare metal. Don't know about the 1600VX wiring looms, but on some K-series the main power connection into the car loom is via an insubstantial spade connector and this can need crimping a bit tighter to get a reliable connection.

*thumbup*253 bhp, up and running *thumbup*

had similar trouble except my 1600 vx classic

would not restart for 5 - 45 mins

they replaced the ecu

now the engine starts but doesn't fire on all 4 cy then sometimes it just dies restarts and the engine dies again

they are going to take it in and have a look

btw they replaced the fuel tank as it had a hole in it so its not that