Click here if you are having website access problems ×

Oil Coolers and stuff....

Julians Biatch

I have been looking on Ju's site at Pat Buxtons westy build (here) and i noticed a little radiator thing in front of the rad. Is this an oil cooler? I have seen them fitted on some high power Jap turbo things but never realised a Westy had one... Has anyone fitted one to a 7? If so, did it make much difference? Does a dry sump negate the need for one or will they compliment each other?

Anyone used forced induction in a 7? Or even water injection or Nitrous Oxide?

I am no expert so here goes:

Lots of cars have oil coolers.

Cooling on a 7 is a little marginal in some cases (eg SLR race cars) as the highly tunned engines put out alot of heat in situations when they are beeing used hard (racing, sprinting)

Most cars do not need them.

Oil/Water coolers seem a good alternative - they help heat the oil when cold and have less plumbing (and weight)

Turbo's have been fitted to 7's - Swiss production 7's or the factory Xflow and XE protypes - and a few owners have fitted Cosworth engines. Probably the best referance for these are all the 7's books.

Greg

Greg, Q 86 NTM (Green 185BHP XF)

I love the idea of building a car from the bare spaceframe up, panelling it yourself. Access for fitting the suspension, etc. looks wonderful. One reason for getting a Westfield (even if there aren't any other reasons :-)