Click here if you are having website access problems ×

Race Camera set-up

Z3MCJez

So many posts today 😳

Anyway, next thing I'm thinking about is adding a camera setup to record (for posterity *smile*) my Academy season. Now, at present, I have no equipment whatsoever, and am looking for a relatively basic setup which is easy to use in the car, and will allow me to edit out the inevitable boring bits later. I could be pursuaded to set up more than one camera feed, if the cost wasn't prohibitive.

So, any recommendations (in basic language please!) as to what I should buy. Note, I'm not technically minded when it comes to electronics, so telling me *EXACTLY* what I'd need to buy would be helpful 😬

Thanks!

Jez

Build Photos

Take a look at Fast Films, they have everything you need. They used to do a 10% discount for the club (when I owned the company *wink* ), so worth calling and speaking to Mark. He owns a Westfield, but don't hold that against him.

You are looking for a small solid state recorder with seperate microphone and bullet camera plus a roll cage mount. If the budget can stretch then a feature like LANC/wired remote control makes things a little easier to switch on and off. Some good previous threads on here, worth a search. *thumbup*

David Smitheram, Wiltshire (South) AR, 07718 368173.

1400 supersport ex racer

Any idea how much you're looking to spend? Setups vary between £200 and £1500.

I'd still recommend a bullet camera and a mini-DV camcorder - probably one secondhand off ebay for around 60 quid, but I know many people now are going the solid-state route.

• Support Team

Whilst I agree with the posts about using a MiniDV camera (that is what I have), it is increasingly difficult to get one with "AV in" and even more difficult to get one with a LANC input for remote control. I therefore suggest that, if you only need this for the car, you look at a solid state recorder.